“Travel is like love, m…

“Travel is like love, mostly because it’s a heightened state of awareness, in which we are mindful, receptive, undimmed by familiarity and ready to be transformed. That is why the best trips, like the best love affairs, never really end.” — Pico Iyer

In the morning, it will be my birthday.  No gift can measure up to the gift of experience.

And honestly, the gift of my mother, who loves me with this kind of undimming love, and always pushes me to try things and allow myself to be transformed.  While I will miss family and loved ones on this day, I feel their presence even stronger in some ways.  How I got here, to this point in life, this physical place, is not all my own doing.

Leave a Reply

