Rain & Ropes

I have had love for you like rain

like a violent rain,

once it even ruptured my insides;

that was before it poured

I have had love for you for years

it is a painful kind that curves in and out

sometimes I cant see it but I can touch it with

half-hearted fingertips.

It takes half of it to be twisted

half of it to be thrown around,

whipped about like a taut rope

that’s only really breaking strands as a form of movement.

Love like rain and ropes, my love:

this is how we love.

the things that end our lives make them whole,

like loving someone ‘till your swinging,

bound by wind, jumping ropes that emit

little stringed shards;

this is what my body does when I’m

dying for something that loves me so much

I fall apart.

Leave a Reply

